Brian Heaton Memorial Award

Brian and Sally Heaton were long time members of the ORHA, both well liked and highly respected by their peers. Brian was famous for his creative and entertaining freestyle runs, and Sally was awarded the Citizenship award in 2006 for her sportsmanship, enduring support of her fellow competitors and her ever-present smile. It was a tragic loss when Brian passed away in 2008. In tribute to Brian, for his dedication and contributions to the ORHA, the Brian Heaton Memorial Award was created.


Brian Heaton Memorial Award Recipients

2018 – Loris Epis
2017 – Harvey Stevens
2016 – Dareth Miller
2014 – Tim & Lisa Stanton
2013 – John & Sharon Fletcher
2012 – Mike Munroe
2011 – John Purdie
2010 – Larry & Lynn McDougall
2009 – Joanne Milton
2008 – Molly Stevens

Nomination Criteria

This leadership award is given to an ORHA member in tribute to Brain for his dedication and contributions to the ORHA. Nominationa for the Brian Heaton Memorial Award can be submitted, in writing, to the Banquet Committee ( by December 15th, 2018.



  • Demonstrates a strong drive to achieve meaningful results and goals
  • Accomplishes critical or difficult tasks, and does not give up easily in the face of obstacles
  • A highly effective leaders in delivering the goals and results needed to promote the Ontario Reining Horse Association and its members


  • Encourages others to define new opportunities and continuously improve the organization
  • Fosters a sense of energy, ownership and personal commitment to the organization.
  • Appreciates and recognizes significant achievements of others within the team
  • Always willing to share any expertise and learnings with other members


  • Goes above and beyond the call, willingly assisting members and the organization as a whole, by volunteering help and guidance wherever there is a need.
  • Acts as a role models for the ORHA at or during all events throughout the National Reining Horse Association.

Swim upstream, go the other way, ignore conventional wisdom

Share this article with friends